HTML <h6> Tag

The HTML <h6> tag represents a level 6 heading in an HTML document.

HTML includes 6 levels of headings, which are ranked by importance. These are <h1>, <h2>, <h3>, <h4>, <h5>, and <h6>.

The rank is given in the heading name; <h1> has the highest rank, and <h6> has the lowest rank. Two headings of the same name have the same rank.

Browsers typically render the various headings in different sizes - with <h1> being the largest and <h6> being the smallest.


The <h6> tag is written as <h6></h6> with the heading text inserted between the start and end tags.

Like this:


Basic tag usage

In Comparison to the Other Headings

Here's what all six levels of headings look like.


Attributes can be added to an HTML element to provide more information about how the element should appear or behave.

The <h6> element accepts the following attributes.


Global Attributes

The following attributes are standard across all HTML elements. Therefore, you can use these attributes with the <h6> tag , as well as with all other HTML tags.

For a full explanation of these attributes, see HTML 5 global attributes.

Event Handlers

Event handler content attributes enable you to invoke a script from within your HTML. The script is invoked when a certain "event" occurs. Each event handler content attribute deals with a different event.

Most event handler content attributes can be used on all HTML elements, but some event handlers have specific rules around when they can be used and which elements they are applicable to.

For more detail, see HTML event handler content attributes.